Changing landscape

Almost two months to the day that I interviewed for a job, I finally got an answer.

I saw the position was posted again on Indeed.com.

I blinked. Hard.

I checked my email.

Nothing.

The blood drained from my face, as I tried to make sense of it all. I had already made peace with the idea that I probably didn’t get the job. But I expected a call, or at least an email. Something to say, Thanks, but no thanks.

The whole situation made me realize how much the employment landscape had changed since the last time I looked for a job. But really, is it ever OK to let a candidate find out they didn’t get the job by simply advertising for the position again?

I found this cheap, and lazy. I had taken the interview seriously. After all, they made a big deal of contacting me within hours of receiving my resume, then bringing me in for an interview 24 hours later. I had to take a half-day off work at the last minute to make it all come together.

I gave them a spiffy portfolio, and followed up with a letter and additional information that they requested.

I should have known something was up when the hiring manager didn’t take my call on the day he asked me to follow up. I finally tracked him down through email four days later, and he replied with a terse: “Thanks. Still in the throws (sic) of first round interviews.  jb”

Nice. I won’t even point out that “first round” should be hyphenated. Oh. Sorry.

So I replied with something sweet, and ever-patient. Then I waited again. For a month. Then I saw the job posting.

I decided to send another email, and acted like I had not seen the job advertisement.

John,

I hope the holidays treated you well! Now that we are into the new year, I thought I would check in on the interview process for the editor position at (business name). The last time we spoke you said you were still in the midst of first-round interviews, which I assumed meant I was still in the running. A status update would be greatly appreciated.
 
I look forward to hearing from you and continuing on in the candidacy for this position.
 
Best,
(me)

At this point, two weeks have passed with no response. I’m not hopeful. My friends say I should keep emailing him until he gives me an answer. I know he’s out of line, but I don’t want to be a pill. It’s a fine line to walk.

Perhaps the landscape has changed enough that there’s no professionalism left in hiring. All I have is 25 years of experience, stellar references and a big ol’ wet fish to the face. It’s clear this guy had no respect for me, or the work that I do.

It’s probably for the better. I wouldn’t want to work for a schmuck like this anyway.

Your resume looks great! Tell me a bit more about yourself...

